The One and Only, Ladybug

Coccinella septempunctata

The seven-spotted ladybug (Coccinella septempunctata) is the official state insect of Delaware, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Tennessee. Interestingly though, it is not native to the US. It was introduced from Europe as a biological control agent to help reduce the number of aphids on crop plants.


This ladybug is also called the seven-spot ladybird or simply “C-7.” The elytra (covering of the bugs) is red in color but has three black spots on each wing and one spot that is on both.  Together this makes a total of seven spots.  Its latin name reflects these marks (septem means “seven” and punctata means “spotted”)

Related Topics

Written by Haley Nelson

I'm a science writer, filmmaker and host for Untamed Science. If it's quirky or adventurous science, I'm all over it. While my past study species have included bryophytes and leeches, my current passions are in the white squirrel phenomenon, trees, and earth science. I'm also married to Stone Age Man.

You can follow Haley Nelson