Genus Cervus: Asian Deer and Elk

The genus Cevus is composed of 4 deer species.  The largest of these is the Elk or "wapiti" (Cervus canadensis).  The genus was a very large genus with nearly 12 species.  Yet, 8 of the species split into other genera (Rucervus, Rusa, and Przewalskium). The remaining species are:

  • Central Asian Red Deer – (Cervus affini)
  • Elk – (Cervus canadensis)
  • Red Deer – (Cervus elaphus)
  • Sika Deer – (Cervus nippon)

Species listed under Cervus