Phylum Mollusca

There are about 93,000 molluscs (individuals in the phylum Mollusca) that exist today. They are a hugely diverse group, with representatives that live in both marine and freshwater, as well as all sorts of terrestrial biomes. This group has about 10 classes, of which only 8 have living representatives.  These 8 extant groups are:

  • Aplacophora
  • Bivalvia (clams, oysters)
  • Cephalopoda (octopus and squid)
  • Gastropoda (snails, slugs)
  • Monoplacophora
  • Polyplacophora
  • Scaphopoda

Species listed under Mollusca