• Ursidae
  • Family Ursidae: Bears

    Classification of Modern Bears

    There are presently eight species of bear (family Ursidae) on Earth.  The following classification is the most accepted.

    Subfamily Ailuropodinae

    • Giant Panda

    Subfamily Tremarctinae

    • Spectacled Bear

    Subfamily Ursinae

    • Brown Bear
    • American Black Bear
    • Polar Bear
    • Asiatic Black Bear
    • Sloth Bear
    • Sun Bear

    More information on Bears

    In Ely, Minnesota, there is an ecological reserve called the North American Bear Center. We encourage students to learn about the bears from this amazing reserve. We’ve been there several times before, and the science staff is amazing.

    Species listed under Ursidae